Five Mississippi Motorcycle Laws and Regulations You Should Know
Mississippi has several motorcycle laws meant to protect both riders and motorists. Before hitting the open road, make sure you know your rights and obligations as a motorcyclist. Understanding your responsibilities is crucial to staying safe and within the bounds of the law.
Mississippi requires all motorcycle operators to wear a helmet when riding. The helmet must meet the minimum guidelines established by the National High Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Look for helmets with a mark identifying them as U.S. DOT compliant.
Riders who violate Mississippi’s helmet law can be ticketed by law enforcement and face fines. Those with more than one violation on their record can face more significant penalties and potentially jail time.
Passengers are not exempt from Mississippi motorcycle laws. While some states restrict who can ride as a passenger by age, there is no age limit for motorcycle passengers in Mississippi.
All passengers must also wear a U.S. DOT-compliant helmet, regardless of age.
Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting occurs when a motorcycle travels between two lanes of traffic. Riders sometimes use lane splitting to bypass traffic jams or stop-and-go traffic. Lane spilling is not legal in Mississippi. However, it is not strictly illegal either. It is up to the discretion of local law enforcement as to whether a rider is lane splitting or operating their vehicle recklessly.
Lane splitting can be dangerous. Since it’s not technically legal in Mississippi, other drivers may not expect to see a motorcyclist pop up between them and a neighboring vehicle. That puts motorcyclists at a greater risk of being struck when a driver moves to change lanes.
Motorcycle License Laws
All Mississippi drivers must hold an official driver’s license. The state takes this requirement one step further and mandates all motorcycle operators to have a valid driver’s license with an additional motorcycle endorsement.
Mississippi provides a handbook covering the material riders should know before taking the written portion of the state exam. Generally, a motorcycle endorsement can be issued for a four-year to eight-year period.
Mississippi requires all drivers to maintain insurance coverage on their vehicles. The mandated minimum amount of liability insurance that a motorcycle operator must carry is:
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 for a single accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
Contact Our Motorcycle Accident Lawyers in Jackson, MS Today
Following the rules of the road won’t always protect you from negligent or reckless drivers. Motorcycle accidents can be devastating, leaving victims with traumatic injuries and mountains of medical bills. You shouldn’t have to pay if someone else is responsible for your injury. Contact an experienced Mississippi motorcycle accident attorney with Derek L. Hall, P.C. to learn about your rights to compensation. The first consultation is free.