Jackson Rollover Attorney
When a vehicle involved in a collision rolls onto its roof or side, tires off the roadway, the accident is known as a rollover collision. Certain types of vehicle are more prone to rollovers than others, particularly larger SUVs. Although rollovers account for only 2 percent of car accidents recorded by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety(IIHS), they can be as dangerous and deadly as other types of collision. After being involved in any type of car accident, seek medical attention as soon as possible.
What Causes Rollovers?
A rollover can happen after a head-on collision or a T-bone collision. Typically, they happen when a vehicle’s tire’s contact with the roadway is disrupted, pushing it off balance. These collisions often happen for the same reason other types of collision occur: driver negligence. Distracted driving, drunk driving, speeding, and disregard for the posted traffic signs can all put a motorist at risk of colliding with another vehicle and causing an accident.
Injuries you Can Sustain in a Rollover
You can suffer many different types of injury in a rollover. The injuries you suffer depend on your overall fitness level, your position in the vehicle relative to the point of impact, and the speed at which the collision occurred. Your injuries can include one or more of the following:
- Broken bones;
- Soft tissue injuries;
- Traumatic brain injury; and
According to the IIHS, 46 percent of individuals involved in rollovers suffered non-debilitating injuries. 12 percent suffered injuries that resulted in their incapacitation. Approximately 4 percent were ejected from their vehicles in their accidents. You can die from the injuries you sustain in a rollover, either immediately or in the weeks or months that follow the collision.
Pursuing Compensation for your Car Accident Damages After a Rollover
Suffering an injury in a car accident can be expensive. After receiving medical care for your injury, you can file a personal injury claim to pursue compensation for the following damages:
- Your medical bills;
- Your lost wages; and
- Your pain and suffering damages.
In Mississippi, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is three years from the date of the accident. That means that if you choose to file a personal injury lawsuit, you must do so before three years pass after your accident. Your lawyer can work with you to determine whether a claim with the negligent party’s insurance provider or a lawsuit is the most effective course of action for your case. You can recover compensation for your damages even if you were partially at fault for your accident. In fact, under Mississippi’s pure comparative fault law, you can recover compensation even if you were primarily at fault.
Work with an Experienced Jackson Car Accident Attorney
If you were injured in a rollover and you are now facing steep financial damages, you have the right to pursue compensation for your damages through a personal injury claim. To learn more, schedule your initial legal consultation with experiencedcar accident lawyer Derek L. Hall, PLLC today.