Close Menu
Jackson Personal Injury Attorney
Free Initial Consultation 601-202-2222 Jackson Personal Injury

Mississippi Adoption

Adoption2

Many couples choose to expand their families through adoption. Though the reasons behind this choice vary, the one constant among all such couples is the driving desire to parent. Getting through the convoluted system can be exhausting, but ultimately, with the help of an experienced attorney, the outcome will be well worth the effort.

Licensing Requirements

Agencies associated with the adoption process are intent on finding safe, loving homes in which to place children. That being said, Mississippi allows adoptions for individuals who rent or own a home, who are single or married, and who are straight or LGBT. Applicants must be at least 21 years old, must live in Mississippi, and must bring in a basic income that indicates the ability to care for the needs of new member of the family.  Other requirements include:

  • A slew of agency forms must be filled out and returned to the agency;
  • Medical data must be addressed by your physician;
  • Any adults in the home will be checked against the Child Abuse Registry and police records;
  • Character references and employment records must be provided;
  • The home will be inspected to ensure it passes water and sanitation requirements;
  • The home must also have a working telephone, a smoke alarm, and an approved fire extinguisher;
  • The household must have available transportation;
  • The child entering the home must have his or her own bed, and no one of the opposite sex may sleep in the same room;
  • There must be a health and a life insurance policy for the family, and a legal plan to address care for the child in the event the adult is disabled or dies.
  • Applicants must receive a minimum of 15 hours of training;
  • All household members will be interviewed during home visits.

How Long Will it Take?

After completing all of the necessary paperwork, training, and investigation, the adoption may be finalized in less than one year. In fact, the average length of time for adoptions is just over 10 months.

Special Needs Adoptions

Children of all ages are waiting to be adopted in Mississippi, many of them with special needs. State and federal funding is available to assist new parents in meeting their child’s needs, ranging from roughly $325-$500 per month.

Can Birth Parents Change their Minds?

Birth parents cannot give consent to an adoption until at least 72 hours after the birth of a child. They then have up to six months to revoke consent.

Terms of Adoption

If the birth parents wish to have visitation, are you comfortable with that? What if biological grandparents wish to be part of the child’s life? These and other issues can be addressed with the help of the experienced legal team at the office of Derek L. Hall, PC. Contact our Jackson office today for a free, confidential consultation.

Resource:

adoptuskids.org/adoption-and-foster-care/how-to-adopt-and-foster/state-information/mississippi

It's Time to Call Derek Hall

Contact Information

Phone: 601-202-2222
Fax: 601-981-4717

Office Hours:
8:30-5:30 M-Th | 8:30-4 F

Office Location

1911 Dunbarton Dr.
Jackson, MS 39216

Site Map

Follow Our Firm

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
Captcha
MileMark Media - Practice Growth Solutions

© 2016 - 2018 Derek L. Hall, PC. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by MileMark Media.