Is Mississippi a No-Fault State?
Mississippi has some of the most dangerous roads in the U.S., ranking near the top of motor vehicle accident fatalities per capita. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association Mississippi car accident statistics, the state saw a total of 581 fatal motor vehicle accidents with 643 people killed in a recent year.
Given the risks of driving on Mississippi roads, drivers should know its insurance rules. In particular, drivers should learn whether or not Mississippi is considered a “no-fault” state for insurance purposes.
Why You Should Care If Mississippi Is a No-Fault State
In a “no-fault” state, auto insurance policies must provide personal injury protection or medical payment coverage to drivers and their passengers when they are injured in a car accident.
The no-fault system requires motorists and passengers to turn to their own insurance for compensation before holding the at-fault driver responsible. In addition, many no-fault states limit what an auto accident victim can be compensated for in a car accident claim unless they have suffered “significant” injury or pay higher insurance premiums.
However, Mississippi is instead considered an “at-fault” or “tort” state. This means that if you are injured in a Mississippi car accident caused by another driver, you can seek full compensation from the at-fault driver and their insurance company for:
- Medical bills
- Past and future lost wages and earnings
- Pain and suffering or lost quality of life
In addition, auto insurance often costs less in at-fault states like Mississippi compared to no-fault states. In no-fault states, drivers effectively bear all or some of the cost of their own injuries even when another driver caused the accident.
Do I Need to Report a Car Accident in Mississippi?
Mississippi car accident laws require drivers involved in a car accident to report accidents to the police when:
- The accident involved more than $500 of vehicle or property damage.
- Someone was injured or killed in the accident.
Calling the police to the scene of the accident is sufficient. Although, if the police are not called, the drivers must file a written accident report within ten days.
Mississippi’s Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Under Mississippi car insurance law, every driver is required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage, which could be used to compensate those who’ve been injured in collisions. If a driver is caught without the legally required insurance minimums, they could be cited for a misdemeanor offense and face penalties that include a fine of up to $1,000, as well as a driver’s license suspension of up to one year. Drivers will also need to provide proof of auto liability insurance and pay DMV reinstatement and renewal fees before their license is reinstated.
Talk to Our Experienced Injury and Accident Attorneys at Derek L. Hall, PC in Jackson, MI Today
If you have been injured in a car accident, contact the Jackson car accident attorneys at Derek L. Hall, P.C. for help. We’ll provide you with a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss your accident and your legal options.